Where are we going?

Treasure MapI got to thinking that many might be asking, “Where is this guy going with all this?”   So let me tell you what I know so far…

Partial Gospel- It seems that most people believe that Jesus came and preached the gospel of salvation.  But if you go back and read the Gospels of what Jesus ACTUALLY taught, you will find that He preached the “gospel of the Kingdom of God (sometimes the Kingdom of Heaven).  Gospel means “good news”.  So Jesus was preaching the good news of His Father’s kingdom.

Before Jesus left the earth, he gave a great commission.  There are a number of Bible verses that talk about what we have come to call the “great commission,” but this verse in Matthew is used most.

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Despite the fact that Jesus commanded His followers to make disciples of all nations and to teach them to observe all that He commanded, it seems that many of His current followers, most churches, believe they have a commission to preach simply the gospel of salvation

Don’t misunderstand what I am saying here… the gospel of salvation IS vitally important!  In fact it is the ONLY way to enter the Kingdom of God.  But if we only preach the good news of salvation, we are only experiencing a small part of what God intends for us.   Have you ever wondered what you’re supposed to do once you are a Christian (one  who is born again, born from above, regenerated…whatever words you use)?  Well, it’s obvious, right?  We preach the good news of salvation to those who are not already Christians.  And they are to do the same.  And so on and so on…  But what if we got everyone in the world “saved”…now what?  What do we do now?  Obviously it will take a long time to share the good news with everyone.  And we are not even close to doing even that!  Let alone taking into account those who will reject the good news.  But let’s go with the original question, “What do we do once we are in God’s family?”

If we simply go out and find lost people, get them saved so they can go out and get other lost people and find them and get them saved…Sunday could be a boring, redundant event.  What?  I hear someone yelling…”It already IS a boring redundant event!”  Really?!?  For many it is…

The other problem with a “partial gospel” is that we are not living a FULL life!  There are so many PROMISES that Jesus gave us.  How many of us are truly EXPERIENCING that “abundant” new life?

But what if we simply did what Jesus did?  Preach the good news of the Kingdom of God… and then bring that Kingdom down here on earth.  What would happen then? My hope is that this discussion will address some of these questions and provide evidence of a BETTER way.  I hope you will join me!

About richardkrolljr

Welcome to my Blog! My name is Richard Kroll Jr. I have an extensive and varied background in business, education, ministry, and leadership development. Earlier in my career I was a sales trainer and motivational speaker. Not too long after starting my career, I served in upper management in the advertising and publishing industry. In an effort to express my faith in my vocation, I became a teacher and eventually a principal, educational consultant, and executive director; starting and improving schools in every conceivable educational model; domestically and internationally. I have served as a senior pastor of several churches and as a missionary in the United States, Africa, Turkey, India, Mexico, Bahamas, Haiti and Costa Rica. I am dedicated to using my gifts and talents in the area of business, education, ministry and leadership development because I can combine my faith, heart for people, and business acumen to help others have fun, make money, and make a difference in their lives and the lives of others. Helping marketplace leaders understand how their gifts and talents can be used to bring the Kingdom of God to the Seven Mountains of Influence is a message that the world needs to hear. The world also needs an advocate for freedom- religious, economic and political freedom. My unique blend of humor, passion and “straight-to-the-heart” teaching style makes me an in demand speaker in just about every conceivable setting. My well researched material and thought-provoking messages resonates with every audience I serve!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where are we going?

  1. A few other topics I want to explore…
    – Normal Christianity- Signs, Wonders and Miracles
    – Secular versus Sacred – Marketplace Apostles?
    – A New Thing (really an ANCIENT thing)- Occupying until He comes! Bringing the Kingdom to earth

Leave a Reply

