Like Saving a Drowning Man

Drowning BusinessmanMany times making disciples is like trying to save a drowning person…they call for you. They ask for your help; sometimes begging. They seem willing to do anything to change their current situation. But once you get involved… get close to them, they scratch and claw and attack you. Many times trying to drown you to save themselves.

Like saving a drowning person, it’s a thankless job. You risk more than they do and most times they either take it for granted or attack you for caring enough to help.

But if we have one clear cut mandate from Jesus, it’s to make disciples. It doesn’t matter if it’s appreciated. It doesn’t matter what the cost. We are to use our time, gifts and talents to lovingly make disciples.

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”” Matthew‬ ‭28:19-20‬

The most important law of ecology is this: Learning ≥ Change.

For an organism to survive, the rate of learning must be equal to or greater than the rate of change happening around them. With the rate of change escalating, we must learn faster, learn better, and learn more.

The word disciple comes from the Greek word mathétés. The root word means “the mental effort needed to think something through.” So by definition, a disciple is someone who never stops learning.

Are you?

About richardkrolljr

Welcome to my Blog! My name is Richard Kroll Jr. I have an extensive and varied background in business, education, ministry, and leadership development. Earlier in my career I was a sales trainer and motivational speaker. Not too long after starting my career, I served in upper management in the advertising and publishing industry. In an effort to express my faith in my vocation, I became a teacher and eventually a principal, educational consultant, and executive director; starting and improving schools in every conceivable educational model; domestically and internationally. I have served as a senior pastor of several churches and as a missionary in the United States, Africa, Turkey, India, Mexico, Bahamas, Haiti and Costa Rica. I am dedicated to using my gifts and talents in the area of business, education, ministry and leadership development because I can combine my faith, heart for people, and business acumen to help others have fun, make money, and make a difference in their lives and the lives of others. Helping marketplace leaders understand how their gifts and talents can be used to bring the Kingdom of God to the Seven Mountains of Influence is a message that the world needs to hear. The world also needs an advocate for freedom- religious, economic and political freedom. My unique blend of humor, passion and “straight-to-the-heart” teaching style makes me an in demand speaker in just about every conceivable setting. My well researched material and thought-provoking messages resonates with every audience I serve!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Like Saving a Drowning Man

  1. Carl Lowe says:

    Very good my brother

Leave a Reply

